Find a Physician | How to Contribute | About Us | Clinical Trials

Types of Cancer: Gynecologic Cancers

Gynecologic cancer is any cancer that starts in a woman's reproductive organs. The five gynecologic cancers begin in different places within a woman's pelvis, which is the area below the stomach and in between the hip bones. Each gynecologic cancer is unique, with different signs and symptoms, different risk factors, and different prevention strategies. All women are at risk for gynecologic cancers, and risk increases with age. When gynecologic cancers are found early, treatment is most effective.

Five main types of cancer affect a woman's reproductive organs: cervical, ovarian, uterine, vaginal, and vulvar. As a group, they are referred to as gynecologic cancer. (A sixth type of gynecologic cancer is the very rare fallopian tube cancer.)

For additional information on risk factors, screening, diagnosis and more visit Cancer.Net by clicking the links below:

Ovarian and Gynecologic Cancers: 2009 Cancer Annual Review

Specialty Programs at the Lurie Cancer Center

Related Media

Cancer Resources

Northwestern Clinical Trials

more trials...

Lurie Cancer Center Specialists

Gynecologic Oncology Hematology/Medical Oncology Radiation Oncology Supportive Oncology